DuPage Public Safety Communications

Primary Navigation

Members Login-In

Forgot Password?
Banner Advertisements


DU-COMM History and Organization

DuPage Public Safety Communications (DU-COMM) is an intergovernmental agency as defined in the Illinois statues (5 ILCS 220/1) formed in 1975 by our member departments to provide emergency communications services to police, fire, and emergency medical services. 

DU-COMM is an intergovernmental agency formed in 1975 to provide public safety communications services to Police, Fire, and EMS agencies.  Today, DU-COMM serves forty-four (44) agencies in DuPage County and is one of the largest consolidated 9-1-1 centers in Illinois.  In 2016 DU-COMM processed over 1.1 million phone calls and over 600,000 police and Fire/EMS incidents.   Municipalities and fire districts have worked together to provide a high level of service to their citizens in public safety communications. 

Agency Structure

Internally DU-COMM has three (3) departments: Operations, Support Services, and Administration.  The Operations department is where Telecommunicators answer the incoming 9-1-1 calls.  DU-COMM has eighty one (81) full-time and one (1) part-time Telecommunicators, and three (3) part-time Alarm Operators, supervised by four (4) Communications Supervisors and managed by three (3) Communications Managers.  The Operations department is supported by Training / QA Manager and a Protocol Coordinator and is under the control of the Deputy Director Operations.

The Support Services department includes two divisions: Technical Services and Management Information Systems (MIS).  Technical Services has three (3) full-time Technicians, and one (1) part-time Technician supervised by the Technical Services Manager.  The Technical Services staff is responsible for the maintenance and installation of agency radio infrastructure and the DU-COMM facility.  MIS is staffed with four (4) contract employees and one (1) part-time GIS Coordinator providing support and system administration for the agency and member departments related to communications or interfaces with DU-COMM.  The Support Services department is under the control of the Deputy Director Support Services.

Administration includes the Executive Director, Deputy Director Operations, Deputy Director Support Services, Finance/HR Manager, Executive Secretary, Finance Clerk, and Office Assistant.

DU-COMM Organizational Chart

Public Safety Communications

DU-COMM Telecommunicators answer incoming 9-1-1 and seven (7) digit phone calls and also dispatch for an individual radio position.  The radio positions are grouped together by agencies as detailed below:

Police Positions:
1 East (Lombard and Villa Park)
3 East (Elmhurst and Oakbrook Terrace)
1 West (Bartlett and Carol Stream)
3 West (Glen Ellyn and Wheaton)
7 West (Warrenville, West Chicago, and Winfield)
1 North (Hanover Park and Roselle)
1 South (Darien, Lisle, and Woodridge)
3 South (Burr Ridge, Clarendon Hills, Hinsdale, Oak Brook and Willowbrook)
7 South (Downers Grove)

Fire Positions:
Fire EAST (Clarendon Hills, Elmhurst, Hinsdale, Lombard, Oak Brook, Oakbrook Terrace, Villa Park, and York Center)    
Fire NORTH (Bloomingdale, Carol Stream, Glen Ellyn, Glenside, Roselle, West Chicago, Wheaton, and Winfield)
Fire SOUTH (Darien-Woodridge, Lisle-Woodridge, and Warrenville)
Fire WEST (Bartlett and Hanover Park)

DU-COMM and Consolidated Services

DU-COMM has been a model of efficient government and consolidated services for over forty(40) years.  During all of that time and even before the 1989 formation of the DuPage Emergency Telephone System Board (ETSB), municipalities and fire districts have worked together to provide a high level of service to their citizens in public safety communications.  Nothing demonstrates this more than during the last eight (8) years eighteen (18) agencies joined DU-COMM to benefit from the cost savings and improved service. Interagency cooperation, efficiency, and shared governance have all been successful within DU-COMM model.

DU-COMM and the DuPage Emergency Telephone System Board (ETSB)

DU-COMM is supported by the DuPage Emergency Telephone System Board (ETSB), which funds much of the infrastructure in the center, including CAD (Computer Aided Dispatch) and Motorola STARCOM21.  DU-COMM is one of eight 9-1-1 centers, or PSAP’s (Public Safety Answering points) in the DuPage ETSB system, but as the largest center, DU-COMM accounts for seventy-five percent (75%) of all police and fire agency’s in the ETSB system.

Our Facility

In October of 1992 ground was broken for our current facility. By August of 1994 the building was completed and our technical staff began the installation of the equipment necessary for dispatch. In September of 1995 DU-COMM began full operation in our current facility.

The building is 12,700 square feet and cost 3 million dollars to build and equip. The west end of the building is built into a hill to help protect it from severe weather conditions. On top of the hill is our 300-foot communications tower.

The 2,600 square foot Operations Center sits on a handicapped accessible raised computer floor topped by static resistant tile. The walls are covered with acoustic absorbing material. We currently have 12 police and 8 fire console positions with an additional 2 training positions and 2 supervisor positions.

DU-COMM is in the process of building a new facility at the DuPage County Campus. This facility which is expected to be completed in the fall of 2018 will be a start of the art 9-1-1 center, with 34 positions, and over 30,000 sq feet of space.

Radio Frequencies

DU-COMM operates on a variety of communications systems. In 2012 we moved our communications onto the statewide STARCOM21 system as part of the DuPage ETSB Interoperable Radio System.


DU-COMM is the dispatch center for M.A.B.A.S. Division 12 and Division 16. M.A.B.A.S.(Mutual Aid Box Alarm System) is a Fire/EMS mutual aid system that has existed since the late 1960's. During major incidents DU-COMM acts as the single point of contact for either division and coordinates the responses.